State-wise Government Holidays

Select the holiday year below to see list of states and holidays.

In India, there are various festivals, tradition, and important holidays where family and friends get to gather and celebrate the unique cultural extravaganza.

India is one of the countries with the highest number of public as well as Government Holidays in the world. Government of various states and centre has their own holidays lists which is based on the local tradition and cultural significance. The holidays which are observed through out India are called National Holidays. There are three National Holidays, which are as follows-

1. Republic Day

2. Independence Day

3. Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti

India is one of the most diverse places on earth with so much diversity yet unified under a flag which makes it very unique and brilliant combination. There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country and each of the state ad UTs have their own local manifestation of Indian Culture. Culture and tradition are the bases on which holidays are celebrated, since such a diversity is present in India, it is natural to have a festive environment throughout the year.

India is a secular country hence, India celebrates festival of all religion whether its Diwali, or Christmas or ID, every festival is celebrated and respected by every individual.

During holidays Government officials are given official holidays which they can utilize to enjoy quality time with family and friends. Peaceful co-existence and universal acceptance is a value that India Culture radiates out enabling the society to be closely connect. People from various religious and ethnic background comes together to celebrate various festivals of different faiths and tradition.